Hamas prisoners in Israel jails elect new leadership

Prisoners gesture from their cell Hasharon, an Israeli prison [JACK GUEZ/AFP/Getty Images]

Prisoners gesture from their cell Hasharon, an Israeli prison

The Central Elections Committee for Hamas prisoners in Israeli jails has announced the results of its leadership election for the term between 2019 and 2021, the Safa news agency reported yesterday.

In a statement leaked to Safa, the Committee said that the elections were carried out in accordance with the movement’s rules.

According to the statement, Hamas prisoners elected 11 prisoners to be added to a four-member committee which consists of the leaders of the largest four Israeli occupation prisons – Al-Naqab, Ofer, Rimon and Maggido, making a 15-member leadership committee.

Mohammad Arman was named leader, Abbas Al-Sayyid as deputy chief, while Ahmad Al-Qidra, Ashraf Zaghier, Salama Qatawi, Othman Bilal, Abdel-Nasser Isa, Munir Meri, Muamar Shahrour, Muaz Bilal and female prisoner Lama Khater were all elected onto the committee.

The leadership will take on its responsibilities at the start of the new year.

READ: Lama Khater’s imprisonment exposes Israel’s fear of words 

(Source / 24.12.2018)

Geef een reactie

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *